Buying guide
Can You Have a Mini Fridge in a Dorm? (2026)
Can you have a mini fridge in a dorm? Usually yes, with a size cap. Ten Southern schools' rules on cubic feet, amps, watts, and rentals.
Editorial buying guide · Updated · ByDorm Room Compass Editorial Team ·Editorial policy ·Methodology
Most halls say yes — with a cubic-foot cap
At most schools, yes — and a mini fridge in a dorm is more likely to sit on the bring list than the prohibited list, the reverse of space heaters and air fryers. The catch is the number: on the ten Southeastern and Southern public university pages below, nearly every school that allows one sets a size cap, a power cap, or both, and three skip personal fridges entirely because the room already includes one.
The caps run from 3.6 to 5.0 cubic feet. FAU allows 3.6 cubic feet and 400 watts. MTSU allows 3.7 cubic feet with a 3.0 amp draw. Auburn allows 4.3 cubic feet. LSU and Appalachian State allow 5 cubic feet. Georgia Southern permits a mini fridge only on its Armstrong campus, at 4.0 cubic feet or less.
The fridge question is also a roommate question: several of these pages allow one unit per room, not one per person. At Tennessee and Mississippi State, which provide a unit in every room, the extra-fridge ban is written out. The dorm room buying checklist walks the same check-before-you-pack step for every category.
Ten Southern schools’ refrigerator rules
Each row quotes the official page. These are examples of how the caps differ, not permission for your campus.
| School | Fridge in the room? | Size / power cap | What the page says | Checked |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| University of Alabama | Provided in six halls | Not stated | “All rooms in Blount, Burke, England, Parham, Paty, and Tutwiler include a MicroFridge unit.” Each unit is “a combination unit with a separate microwave, refrigerator, and freezer.” | Oct 28, 2026 |
| Auburn University | Yes | 4.3 cu ft | Prohibited list includes “personal refrigerators exceeding 4.3 cubic feet”; the appliance chart reads “Yes (4.3 cubic feet or less)”. | Oct 28, 2026 |
| University of South Carolina | No — bring a Microfridge | Not stated | “Mini Fridge” and “Freezers” sit under ITEMS NOT TO BRING; “Microfridge” is under WHAT TO BRING. | Oct 28, 2026 |
| University of Tennessee, Knoxville | No — one provided per room | Not stated | What Not to Bring includes “Additional mini-fridges (micro-fridge unit included in each room)”. | Oct 28, 2026 |
| LSU | Yes | 5 cu ft; under 150 running watts | “Refrigerator up to 5 cubic feet in size with a running wattage of less than 150 watts”; the handbook also says such appliances “must be plugged directly into a wall outlet”. | Oct 28, 2026 |
| Mississippi State University | No — fridge and microwave provided | Not stated | Prohibited items include “extra refrigerators/freezers”; the FAQ lists a refrigerator and microwave among the basics provided. | Oct 28, 2026 |
| Florida Atlantic University | Yes | 3.6 cu ft; 400 watts | “Residents may bring their own refrigerator as long as it does not exceed 3.6 cubic feet and 400 watts.” | Oct 28, 2026 |
| Appalachian State University | Yes, one per room | 5 cu ft; 1200 watts; 10 amps | Allows a “small refrigerator (must not exceed 1200 watts or 10 amps; 5 cubic feet or less), one of each permitted per room”. | Oct 28, 2026 |
| Middle Tennessee State University | Yes | 3.7 cu ft; 3.0 amps; 50 lbs | Refrigerators “MUST NOT EXCEED the following specifications– 50lbs, 3.7 cubic feet, 3.0 amperage draw”. Full-size refrigerators are provided in apartments. | Oct 28, 2026 |
| Georgia Southern University | Armstrong campus only | 4.0 cu ft at Armstrong | “Mini fridge (permitted at Armstrong but must be 4.0 cubic feet or less)” appears under Not Eligible to Bring. | Oct 28, 2026 |
Read as a set, the pattern is: a cap between roughly 3.5 and 5 cubic feet, sometimes an amp or watt number next to it, and a one-per-room limit. The outliers matter more than the average — Georgia Southern bans the appliance on its main campus and allows it on another, and three schools answer the question by putting a fridge in the room before you arrive.
Cubic feet, amps, and watts: reading the caps
A cubic-foot cap is a capacity cap. The spread on these pages runs from 3.6 to 5.0 cubic feet, so compare the fridge’s stated capacity with the number on your hall’s page, and measure the floor or counter spot before ordering.
Amps and watts are draw caps. LSU’s “running wattage of less than 150 watts” is the strictest line on these pages, Appalachian State allows up to “1200 watts or 10 amps”, and MTSU’s draw limit is “3.0 amperage”. When a page names both a size and a power number, meet both.
The outlet clause is part of the fridge rule, not a footnote. LSU requires the direct wall outlet. That is the same category of line dorm kettle policies use for high-watt appliances, and it is why a fridge plus a power strip is worth an email to housing before move-in day.
One fridge per room, and what happens with two
Appalachian State spells the limit out: “one of each permitted per room”. Tennessee’s page answers the second-fridge question by listing “Additional mini-fridges” on its what-not-to-bring list. Mississippi State prohibits “extra refrigerators/freezers”, and South Carolina adds “Freezers” to the same do-not-bring list.
So the practical sequence for roommates is: check whether the room includes a unit, agree on who buys if it does not, and treat the second fridge as banned until your own housing page says otherwise. If the room already has a MicroFridge, the microwave half of that unit changes the math too — dorm microwave rules cover that half of the combo.
Provided units and rental programs
Three schools in this set remove the purchase question by providing the appliance. Alabama includes a MicroFridge in all rooms in Blount, Burke, England, Parham, Paty, and Tutwiler. Tennessee includes a micro-fridge unit in every room. Mississippi State provides the refrigerator and microwave as part of “the basics”.
Appalachian State runs a rental instead: “Rent an energy-efficient MicroFridge® unit combining a refrigerator, freezer, and microwave for your residence hall room during the fall and spring semesters”, through its partner Standards For Living. South Carolina’s packing list is the quiet version of the same idea — it names “Microfridge” under WHAT TO BRING while keeping standalone mini fridges off the list.
A rented or provided combo settles the fridge and microwave rules in one transaction; at schools where the combo is the only approved microwave route, dorm microwave rules show how that half works. Before renting, compare the rental term with the semester calendar and your hall’s own page.
Before you buy: matching the listing to the cap
- Pull up your hall’s current page and copy the exact cap — cubic feet first, then amps or watts if the page names them.
- Check the fridge’s stated capacity and power draw on the listing, not the marketing name; “dorm size” is not a specification.
- Confirm the outlet rule. If the page says direct wall outlet, plan the cord length for it.
- Agree with your roommate on one unit, because several of these pages cap the room, not the person.
- Skip the second fridge and the standalone freezer unless your page clearly allows them.
If the appliance you actually want to plug in next to the fridge is a cooking one, the air fryer rules guide is the companion check, and dorm room comfort essentials keeps the non-appliance comforts from crowding it out.
How this fridge guide was sourced
We compared ten official housing and residence-life pages, checked Oct 28, 2026: Alabama, Auburn, South Carolina, Tennessee, LSU, Mississippi State, FAU, Appalachian State, MTSU, and Georgia Southern. We did not buy, rent, or test any refrigerator, and no fridge product is recommended on this page. Caps and programs change; your own school’s current written page is the rule that applies.
Approved sources
FAQ
Are mini fridges allowed in dorm rooms?
At most of the ten schools checked here, yes. Auburn, LSU, FAU, Appalachian State, MTSU, and Georgia Southern's Armstrong campus allow a personal fridge inside a stated size or power cap. Alabama, Tennessee, and Mississippi State instead provide a fridge or MicroFridge unit and prohibit extra units. South Carolina's packing list puts Mini Fridge under items not to bring. Only your own hall's current written page decides.
What size mini fridge is allowed in a dorm?
The caps on these pages run from 3.6 to 5.0 cubic feet: FAU 3.6 cubic feet and 400 watts, MTSU 3.7 cubic feet with a 3.0 amp draw limit and 50 pound cap, Georgia Southern's Armstrong campus 4.0 cubic feet, Auburn 4.3 cubic feet, and LSU and Appalachian State 5 cubic feet. Appalachian State adds a 1200 watt and 10 amp cap. Compare the listing's capacity and power draw with your school's numbers before buying.
Can you have two mini fridges in one dorm room?
Usually no. Appalachian State allows one refrigerator and one microwave per room. Tennessee lists additional mini-fridges on its what-not-to-bring list because a micro-fridge unit is already in each room. Mississippi State prohibits extra refrigerators and freezers outright, and South Carolina also lists separate freezers as items not to bring.
Why do some schools say no to a personal fridge?
Because the room already has one. Alabama includes a MicroFridge in all rooms in six halls. Tennessee includes a micro-fridge unit in every room. Mississippi State names a refrigerator and microwave among the basics it provides, and its prohibited list covers extra refrigerators and freezers. South Carolina's packing list steers residents to a Microfridge instead of a standalone mini fridge.
Does a dorm fridge need its own wall outlet?
At LSU, yes. Its handbook says refrigerators, microwaves, and approved high-performance personal computers must be plugged directly into a wall outlet. Appalachian State caps the appliance rather than naming the outlet. Check your own page for the outlet rule before you add a power strip to the plan.
Are separate freezers allowed in dorm rooms?
Not at South Carolina, which lists Freezers under items not to bring, and not at Mississippi State, which prohibits extra refrigerators and freezers. None of the ten pages checked here permits a standalone freezer. A fridge-freezer combo inside the size cap is the format these pages describe.