Editorial research with clear limitsHow this site is funded
Dorm Room CompassDorm Room CompassBuy less. Choose dorm essentials that fit the room you actually have.
Menu

Buying guide

Can You Have a Microwave in a Dorm? (2026)

Can you have a microwave in a dorm? Yes at most schools, sometimes only as a rented MicroFridge. Ten Northeast pages on watts and combos.

Editorial buying guide · Updated · ByDorm Room Compass Editorial Team ·Editorial policy ·Methodology

The microwave verdict for residence hall rooms

A microwave is usually the one cooking appliance a residence hall permits in a sleeping room, which is why the kettle and air-fryer questions on this site keep pointing back to it. Whether you can have a microwave in a dorm comes down to which of three rules your school writes: a wattage cap on your own unit, a rental-only program, or a microwave already in the room.

At five of the ten Northeast and Mid-Atlantic schools checked Oct 28, 2026, you may bring your own microwave inside a wattage cap: 700 watts at UConn, UMass Amherst, and Delaware; 800 watts at George Mason; and under 1,000 watts at Syracuse, with its smoke-detection condition. UNH also lists a microwave on its bring list but recommends renting. At Stony Brook, WVU, and UMBC’s halls and suites, a personally owned microwave is not the route — the approved option is a rented MicroFridge or a university-installed unit. At Towson, the question never comes up: every room already includes a micro-fridge.

The table below quotes each page so you can see which rule applies to you.

Ten Northeast and Mid-Atlantic pages, compared

SchoolOwn microwave in the room?Wattage capRent / provided routeWhat the page saysChecked
UConnYes700 WNone; fridges are not rentable either“Small microwave (700 watts or less)” under “Acceptable Appliances (UL Approved)”.Oct 28, 2026
UMass AmherstYes700 W; 0.7 cu ftMicroFridge rentals“Microwave up to 700 watts and 0.7 cubic ft.”; appliances need “an Underwriters’ label or seal of approval from another recognized testing laboratory”.Oct 28, 2026
Stony Brook UniversityRental only700 W rental unitMicroFridge program“The MicroFridge program is the only approved option for a microwave in your residence hall room due to the unit’s safety features and ability to efficiently manage electricity”.Oct 28, 2026
Syracuse UniversityYes, with conditionsUnder 1,000 WMicrofridge rental“only microfridges and microwaves with an internal smoke detection system and automatic shutdown are permitted in residence halls”; “Microwaves and microfridges must be less than 1,000 watts”.Oct 28, 2026
University of DelawareYes, one per room700 WMyMicroFridge / Campus Specialties“Microwave no greater than 700 watts (1 per room)”; “Students are welcome to purchase and bring their own mini-fridge and microwave.”Oct 28, 2026
West Virginia UniversityRental onlyNot statedMicroFridge rental, one per roomWhat to leave includes “Electric devices such as microwaves (not including the MicroFridge…)”; the MicroFridge “must be plugged directly into a wall outlet in the room”.Oct 28, 2026
George Mason UniversityYes800 WBreez MicroFridges“Microwave (800 Watt max)”; “MicroFridges rented through Breez comply with University requirements.”Oct 28, 2026
UMBCNot in halls and suites unless rentedNot statedGoBreez Microfridge rental“Microwave (not permitted in Halls and Suites, unless you rent a Microfridge)”; exceptions are “Microfridge” units and university-installed kitchen microwaves.Oct 28, 2026
Towson UniversityProvidedNot applicableMicro-fridge in every roomRooms come with “a micro-fridge (a combination microwave and refrigerator)”.Oct 28, 2026
University of New HampshireYes — renting advisedNot statedRoomie MicroFridge rentalBring list includes “Microwave ( rent one! )”; the rental page says “The microwave is a 700-watt turntable system with 3 cooking levels.”Oct 28, 2026

Three details worth a second look. First, the 700-watt cap is the region’s default. Second, “allowed” and “bring your own” are not the same sentence — three pages approve the appliance only through a rental or installed unit. Third, Syracuse adds a hardware requirement, not just a wattage number.

Why 700 watts keeps coming up

The pages that explain the cap talk about electricity, not cooking speed. Stony Brook approves its rental program “due to the unit’s safety features and ability to efficiently manage electricity”. UNH’s rental microwave is a 700-watt unit with an internal smoke sensor that “automatically shuts down the microwave and alerts user if smoke is detected”. Syracuse writes the same idea as a rule: without the smoke detection system and automatic shutdown, a microwave “will be subject to removal”.

The size and count caps read the same way: UMass Amherst pairs its 700-watt line with “0.7 cubic ft.”, and Delaware allows one microwave per room rather than one per bed. When you shop, the wattage is on the listing’s spec plate, and anything above the cap is not a gray area on these pages — it is the wrong appliance, the same way a 1,500-watt kettle fails a 750-watt school.

The rental route: MicroFridge, Breez, GoBreez, Roomie

The schools here rent through named partners: MicroFridge at Stony Brook, Syracuse, and UNH’s partner Roomie; Breez at George Mason; GoBreez at UMBC; Campus Specialties at Delaware. The combo unit covers the refrigerator half of the deal at the same time, which is why mini fridge rules and microwave rules usually resolve together.

Renting is not decoration on these pages — at Stony Brook it is “the only approved option”, and at WVU personally owned microwaves sit on the what-to-leave list while the MicroFridge is the carve-out. Delaware splits the difference: bring your own inside the cap, “Or rent a combined unit from MyMicroFridge”.

Read the rental terms before you pay, and note what the approval is tied to: Syracuse names the required detection and shutdown system, and UNH lists its rental microwave’s smoke sensor. A rental can also settle a one-per-room cap between roommates — Delaware allows a single microwave or combo unit per room.

When the microwave is already in the room

Towson is the clearest case: the FAQ describes each room’s included “micro-fridge (a combination microwave and refrigerator)”, and several buildings add full kitchens “including microwaves and common living rooms”. UMBC’s apartment kitchens include a microwave, stove, oven, and full-size refrigerator, and UNH’s Gables and Woodside apartments have full kitchens with provided appliances.

Syracuse keeps a building-type split in writing: the smoke-detection requirement applies to residence halls, while “Standard microwaves will still be permitted in campus apartments (South and Milton)”. The lesson generalizes across all ten pages — the same school can have three answers for three room types, so match the rule to your building, not your campus.

Plugging it in: what these pages say about outlets

WVU names the outlet directly: the MicroFridge and mini refrigerator “must be plugged directly into a wall outlet in the room”. UConn files microwaves under UL-approved appliances, and UMass Amherst asks for a recognized lab’s label on everything you plug in. UNH’s prohibited list includes items unrecognized to a UL standard.

None of these pages invites a daisy-chained power strip. If the room has more approved appliances than usable outlets, the answer on these pages is the combo unit or a question to housing. The dorm room buying checklist treats outlets as a first-pass filter for exactly this reason.

What we checked for this page

We compared ten official housing pages, checked Oct 28, 2026: UConn, UMass Amherst, Stony Brook, Syracuse, Delaware, WVU, George Mason, UMBC, Towson, and UNH. No microwave was purchased or tested, no rental was placed, and no microwave product is recommended here. Wattage caps, rental partners, and per-room limits change year to year; your own housing page is the controlling rule.

Approved sources

FAQ

Are microwaves allowed in college dorm rooms?

At six of the ten schools checked here, you may bring your own: UConn, UMass Amherst, Delaware, George Mason, and Syracuse inside a wattage cap, and UNH, which recommends renting. At Stony Brook, WVU, and UMBC's halls and suites, the only approved in-room microwave is a rented MicroFridge or one the university installed. Towson puts a micro-fridge in every room already. Check your own hall's current page.

What wattage microwave can you have in a dorm?

The caps on these pages are 700 watts at UConn, UMass Amherst, and Delaware, 800 watts at George Mason, and less than 1,000 watts at Syracuse. UMass Amherst also caps the size at 0.7 cubic feet. Rental units at Stony Brook and UNH use 700-watt microwaves. Many compact dorm microwaves are 700 watts exactly; a full-size 1,000-plus-watt oven fits none of these caps.

Is a 1000-watt microwave allowed in a dorm?

Not at the schools here that name a cap. Syracuse draws the line at less than 1,000 watts and adds a separate condition: only microwaves with an internal smoke detection system and automatic shutdown are permitted in residence halls. UConn, UMass Amherst, and Delaware cap at 700 watts, and George Mason at 800 watts.

What is a MicroFridge, and why do schools rent them?

A MicroFridge is a combination microwave, refrigerator, and freezer in one unit. Schools rent them because the combo manages electricity on shared circuits: Stony Brook calls its MicroFridge program the only approved option for a room microwave due to the unit's safety features and ability to efficiently manage electricity, and Syracuse notes rental units contain the required smoke detection and shutdown system.

Do any dorms provide microwaves already?

Yes. Towson says every residence hall room includes a micro-fridge, a combination microwave and refrigerator. UMBC installs microwaves in apartment kitchens and kitchenettes. UNH's on-campus apartments at Gables and Woodside each have a full kitchen, and Syracuse allows standard microwaves in its campus apartments.

Does a dorm microwave need a dedicated outlet?

Where the page names one, yes. WVU's rule is that the MicroFridge and mini refrigerator must be plugged directly into a wall outlet in the room. UConn puts its microwave limit under Acceptable Appliances (UL Approved), and UMass Amherst asks for an Underwriters label. Treat the microwave as the outlet's main tenant, not a power-strip accessory.