Cross-brand buying guide
Best Air Purifier for Dorm Room: 5 Picks
Top pick

140 ft² at the listing's 4.8× rate
LEVOIT Core 200S Air Purifier
The Amazon listing says this Core 200S-P refreshes a 140 square-foot room 4.8 times per hour, in an 8.1-inch-square body.
Best for
A room that matches the listing's 140 square-foot, 4.8-times-per-hour claim, with space for an 8.1-inch square.
Skip if
The room is closer to the Vital 100S-P's 222 square-foot claim, or you will not replace the cartridge.
Best air purifier for dorm room: compare five compact models by CADR, stated room size, noise, filter, footprint, and the room claim that fits.
Editorial format guide · Updated · ByDorm Room Compass Editorial Team ·Editorial policy ·Methodology
Products compared
5 picks
Top pick
LEVOIT Core 200S Smart Air Purifier
Decision factors
4.8-times room claim, not the once-per-hour floor area · Whether a CADR is actually printed · Body size, weight, and filter upkeep
Comparison first
Start with the short list.
Use the table to compare the purchase decision, then read the individual context before using a sponsored merchant link.
| Product | Decision context | Listing check | Decision |
|---|---|---|---|
| LEVOIT Core 200S Air Purifier | A student who wants particle filtration with a published CADR for a small room and is willing to replace filters on schedule. | Check the exact variant, directions and ingredients or materials on the current listing. | |
| LEVOIT Vital 100S-P Air Purifier | A larger double that matches the listing's 222 square-foot claim at 4.8 times per hour, if a 16-inch-tall body fits. | Check the exact variant, directions and ingredients or materials on the current listing. | |
| Morento MR2566 Air Purifier | A tight nightstand when you accept a small body and a floor-area claim that is not backed by a printed CADR. | Check the exact variant, directions and ingredients or materials on the current listing. | |
| Membrane Solutions MSA3 Air Purifier | A reader who has floor space for a 21.5-inch tower and will size the room from the manufacturer's 112 CFM, not from Amazon's 1,590 square feet. | Check the exact variant, directions and ingredients or materials on the current listing. | |
| Aeocky YearChange Air Purifier | A room you will size from the Turbo 141 CFM dust CADR and the stated 480 sq ft at 4.8 air changes per hour, not from the 2,300 sq ft title figure. | Check the exact variant, directions and ingredients or materials on the current listing. |
How we picked
The questions behind this shortlist.
01
4.8-times room claim, not the once-per-hour floor area
Each pick must make this decision clearer and name a reason not to buy it.
02
Whether a CADR is actually printed
Each pick must make this decision clearer and name a reason not to buy it.
03
Body size, weight, and filter upkeep
Each pick must make this decision clearer and name a reason not to buy it.
Full picks
Why each product is here.

140 ft² at the listing's 4.8× rate
LEVOIT Core 200S Air Purifier
The Amazon listing says this Core 200S-P refreshes a 140 square-foot room 4.8 times per hour, in an 8.1-inch-square body.
Best for
A room that matches the listing's 140 square-foot, 4.8-times-per-hour claim, with space for an 8.1-inch square.
Skip if
The room is closer to the Vital 100S-P's 222 square-foot claim, or you will not replace the cartridge.
Why it ranked here: The Amazon listing says this Core 200S-P refreshes a 140 square-foot room 4.8 times per hour, in an 8.1-inch-square body.
Main tradeoff: The Amazon spec table checked for this page does not print a CFM number, and the filter cartridge is replaced, not rinsed.

222 ft² and a washable pre-filter
LEVOIT Vital 100S-P Air Purifier
The listing writes a smoke-free CADR of 143 for 222 square feet and says the pre-filter can be rinsed. The other stages are still replaced.
Best for
A larger double that matches the 222 square-foot claim at 4.8 times per hour, if a taller body fits.
Skip if
An 8.1-inch Core 200S already covers the room, or the taller body will not fit.
Why it ranked here: The listing writes a smoke-free CADR of 143 for 222 square feet and says the pre-filter can be rinsed. The other stages are still replaced.
Main tradeoff: The body is 16 inches tall and about 12.6 inches deep, and Amazon's once-per-hour area does not match LEVOIT's by a few square feet.

Smallest body, no CADR stated
Morento MR2566 Air Purifier
The listing gives a 3-pound body about 6.9 by 7.9 inches at the base, and it does not state a CADR for the 225 square-foot floor area.
Best for
A tight nightstand when you accept a small plug-in unit with no published CADR.
Skip if
You need a CADR you can size, or a scent pad would bother a roommate.
Why it ranked here: The listing gives a 3-pound body about 6.9 by 7.9 inches at the base, and it does not state a CADR for the 225 square-foot floor area.
Main tradeoff: The title says 23 dB and the spec table says 22 dB, and the listing includes a scent pad.

Only if both room-size lines are acceptable
Membrane Solutions MSA3 Air Purifier
Amazon lists a 1,590 square-foot floor area and 22 dB. The manufacturer page lists 112 CFM, 840 square feet per hour, and 35–57 dB.
Best for
A reader who has floor space for a 21.5-inch tower and will use the manufacturer's 112 CFM, not Amazon's 1,590 square feet, as the dorm figure.
Skip if
You need one room-size story, or you wanted a nightstand cube.
Why it ranked here: Amazon lists a 1,590 square-foot floor area and 22 dB. The manufacturer page lists 112 CFM, 840 square feet per hour, and 35–57 dB.
Main tradeoff: Room size, noise, and weight disagree between Amazon and the manufacturer page. The tower is the largest body in this set.
480 ft² at 4.8× in Turbo
Aeocky YearChange Air Purifier
The listing's Turbo dust CADR is 240 m³/h (141 CFM) and smoke is 224 m³/h (131 CFM), with 4.8 air changes per hour up to 480 sq ft. The 2,300 sq ft title figure is one air change per hour.
Best for
A room you size from 480 square feet at 4.8 air changes per hour on Turbo, without using 2,300 square feet as the dorm size.
Skip if
You will run below Turbo and still expect the 480 square-foot rate, or you read 2,300 square feet as the dorm room size.
Why it ranked here: The listing's Turbo dust CADR is 240 m³/h (141 CFM) and smoke is 224 m³/h (131 CFM), with 4.8 air changes per hour up to 480 sq ft. The 2,300 sq ft title figure is one air change per hour.
Main tradeoff: Energy Star High-speed CADR is lower: 90 CFM dust, 74 CFM smoke, and 86 CFM pollen. Divided by 0.65, the Turbo 141 CFM dust figure is about 217 square feet, not 480.
For a room the listing sizes near 140 square feet, the best air purifier for dorm room in this set is the LEVOIT Core 200S-P. Amazon says that model refreshes a 140 ft² room 4.8 times per hour, and the body is 8.1 inches square. A larger double is a closer match for the LEVOIT Vital 100S-P: the listing sizes it at 222 ft² at that same 4.8-times rate and lists a smoke-free CADR of 143 CFM. The Morento MR2566 is the smallest, lightest body here, and its listing does not state a CADR. Open the Membrane Solutions MSA3 only if a 21.5-inch tower fits and you can accept that Amazon and the manufacturer publish different room-size and noise figures.
This page compares those five models only. The numbers below come from public listings and manufacturer pages. We did not measure these units.
The fifth model is the Aeocky YearChange (Cybertron). Its Turbo dust CADR is 240 m³/h, which the listing converts to 141 CFM (smoke 131 CFM). It states 4.8 air changes per hour up to 480 sq ft. The 2,300 sq ft figure in the title is the once-per-hour number.
How to choose the best air purifier for dorm room
Start with the room claim that matches how you will run the unit, not the largest square-foot number in the spec table. Several listings print a floor area that is a once-per-hour figure. The more useful dorm number is the room size at about 4.8 air changes per hour, which is what the Core 200S and Vital 100S-P bullets state. The dorm air purifier size guide shows how to turn a CADR into that kind of room size.
Next, see whether a CADR is printed at all. A floor-area cell with no CADR cannot be checked against a delivery rate. The table marks which of these five pages state one.
Then measure the body against the spot you have. An 8-inch square can sit on a dresser. A 21-inch tower needs floor space and a clear cord path. Three pounds and 13.6 pounds are different move-in loads.
Filter upkeep is part of the buy. A washable pre-filter is not a filter you never replace. The MSA3 listing names replacement-filter ASINs B08FSZFFCY and B09VGYK54J. This page does not price refills.
Noise figures here are single cells or ranges from the seller or the manufacturer. Sleep settings, display lights, and timers for the Core 200S are covered in the quietest air purifier setting for sleeping in a dorm.
Five models side by side
Prices appear in this table only. The first four rows are Amazon.com buy-box prices as of Oct 26, 2026. The Aeocky row is an Amazon price as of Oct 27, 2026. A List Price is shown only when that product’s buy box used those words.
| Model | Room claim | Noise | Filter | Body | Price |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| LEVOIT Core 200S-P (B08FJ678YK) | Listing: a 140 ft² room 4.8 times per hour. Spec floor area: 675 sq ft. | Spec table: 27 dB | Nylon pre-filter, main filter, and activated carbon. The listing does not call the pre-filter washable. | 8.1 × 8.1 × 12.6 in, 6.6 lb, 45 W | $89.99. |
| LEVOIT Vital 100S-P, LAP-V102S-WUS (B0BNDM2RNG) | Listing writes Smoke-free CADR(cmf) 143 for 222 sq ft, and 4.8 times per hour up to 222 ft² (once per hour in 1,073 ft²). LEVOIT’s page: 222 ft² at 4.8 ACH and 1,066 ft² at 1 ACH. | Spec table: 25 dB. Sleep mode as low as 25 dB. | 3-stage, with a washable pre-filter. The other stages are still replaced. | 12.64 × 6.3 × 16.02 in, 8.6 lb, 42 W | $119.99. Labeled List Price $139.99. |
| Morento MR2566 (B0DBLLS94G) | Spec floor area: 225 sq ft. | Spec table: 22 dB. The title also says 23 dB. A sleep-mode line says 22 dB. | HEPA. Indicator after 2,000 hours. Listing says replace every 3–6 months. | 7.87 × 6.92 × 12.79 in, 3 lb. Adapter stored in the filter compartment. | $34.99 |
| Membrane Solutions MSA3 (B08ND7C7P4) | Amazon spec floor area: 1,590 sq ft. Manufacturer page: CADR 112 CFM and 840 ft² per hour. | Amazon spec: 22 dB. Manufacturer page: 35–57 dB. | Listing: pre-filter, H13 filter, and activated carbon. | Amazon: 7.7 × 13.1 × 21.5 in, 13.6 lb, 44 W. Manufacturer: 334 × 195 × 545 mm, 4.9 kg, 44 W. | $89.09. Labeled List Price $109.99. |
| Aeocky YearChange Cybertron (B0FK53C7B9) | Turbo: 4.8 air changes per hour up to 480 sq ft. One air change up to 2,300 sq ft. Turbo dust CADR 240 m³/h (141 CFM); smoke 224 m³/h (131 CFM). Energy Star High: dust 90 CFM, smoke 74 CFM, pollen 86 CFM. | Not stated on the Amazon listing or Aeocky page checked Oct 27, 2026. | Washable pre-filter. The listing also names a scent capsule. | 11 × 5.87 × 13.3 in, 5.9 lb. | Amazon price, as of Oct 27, 2026: $99.99. |
Sources for the table: the five Amazon listings named above. The first four were checked Oct 26, 2026, and the Aeocky listing was checked Oct 27, 2026. LEVOIT’s Vital 100S-P page is the source for the 222 ft² and 1,066 ft² line. The Membrane Solutions air-purifier page is the source for the MSA3 CADR, noise range, dimensions, and weight. Aeocky’s YearChange page states 240 m³/h CADR and up to 2,300 sq ft.
How those room-size claims compare
EPA’s guide to air cleaners in the home, updated October 1, 2026, says CADR is usually reported at the highest fan speed. Its room chart is about 0.65 CFM of CADR per square foot for an 8-foot ceiling. CADR covers particles. EPA says there is no widely used rating for gases, and that no cleaner removes every pollutant. The size guide linked above is where that chart is worked room by room.
The Vital listing’s 143 divided by 0.65 is 220 square feet, close to the 222 ft² it pairs with 4.8 times per hour. The same 143 times 60, divided by an 8-foot ceiling, is about 1,073 square feet at one air change, which matches Amazon’s once-per-hour bullet. LEVOIT’s page lists 1,066 ft² at one air change, not 1,073. For a room you sleep in, use 222 ft².
The MSA3 manufacturer CADR is 112 CFM. Divided by 0.65, that is about 172 square feet. At 4.8 air changes and an 8-foot ceiling, 112 CFM is 175 square feet. The manufacturer’s 840 ft² per hour is the one-air-change figure: 112 times 60, divided by 8, is 840. Amazon’s 1,590 sq ft floor area is larger than both. Do not treat 1,590 as the dorm room size.
The Core 200S listing’s useful number is 140 ft² at 4.8 times per hour. The 675 sq ft floor-area cell is the once-per-hour style of number, and that Amazon page does not print CFM. The LEVOIT Core 200S review cites LEVOIT, as of Oct 19, 2026, for a 90 CFM CADR. At one air change and an 8-foot ceiling, 90 CFM is 675 square feet, which matches the floor-area cell. This page does not treat that CFM as a figure re-read on Oct 26. Amazon that day lists 45 watts and 27 dB. The review cites 37 watts and a 27–48 dB range from the earlier LEVOIT check. The Morento listing has no CADR, so its 225 sq ft floor area cannot be checked the same way.
The Aeocky YearChange listing pairs 480 sq ft with 4.8 air changes per hour and 2,300 sq ft with one air change. Those two lines are the same claim: 480 times 4.8 is about 2,304. Turbo dust CADR is 240 m³/h (141 CFM) and smoke is 131 CFM. Divided by 0.65, 141 CFM is about 217 square feet, not 480. At one air change and an 8-foot ceiling, 141 CFM is about 1,058 square feet, not 2,300. Use the CFM the way this page uses the Vital and MSA3 figures, and do not treat 2,300 sq ft as the dorm room size. Energy Star High-speed CADR is lower: 90 CFM dust, 74 CFM smoke, and 86 CFM pollen. At the same 0.65 rate, 90 CFM is about 138 square feet.
Best LEVOIT air purifier for a dorm room
Between these two LEVOIT models, pick by the 4.8-times room. The Core 200S-P is the best LEVOIT air purifier for a dorm room at about 140 ft² on the listing’s rate, in an 8.1-inch square. The Vital 100S-P is the one closer to 222 ft², with a deeper, taller body. On Amazon listing B08FJ678YK, the Model Name is Core 200S-P and the item model number is Core 200S, so this page uses both names for the same unit.
The Core listing describes a nylon pre-filter, a main filter, and activated carbon. It does not call the pre-filter washable. Timing and the Core 200S-RF part are in the Core 200S filter replacement guide. The listing includes an AHAM VERIFIDE mark and says the unit is CARB certified. Confirm the model on CARB’s certified-device list before you treat that line as directory membership. Skip it if you need the 222 ft² rate or will not replace the cartridge.
The Vital listing says rinsing the pre-filter helps maintain the 3-stage system. The middle filter and the carbon stage are still replaced. The Amazon model number is LAP-V102S-WUS, and the spec table also names AHAM and CARB. Skip it if the Core 200S already covers the room.
Best small air purifier for dorm room
In this set, the best small air purifier for dorm room is the Morento MR2566 when small means the body, not a published delivery rate. The listing gives 7.87 by 6.92 by 12.79 inches and 3 pounds, and it does not state a CADR for the 225 sq ft floor area.
Noise is 22 dB in the spec table and 23 dB in the title. A sleep-mode line says 22 dB. The filter note is an indicator after 2,000 hours and replacement every 3–6 months. An adapter ships in the filter compartment, so this is a plug-in. A scent pad and a blue night light are on the listing, and either can bother a roommate. The spec table says CARB certified. Use the CARB list linked above. Skip the MR2566 if you need a CADR you can size.
Membrane Solutions MSA3
The MSA3 is the awkward fit. Power agrees at 44 watts. The body does not. Amazon lists 7.7 by 13.1 by 21.5 inches and 13.6 pounds. The manufacturer lists 334 by 195 by 545 mm and a net weight of 4.9 kg. The millimeters match Amazon’s inch footprint. The weights do not: 4.9 kg is about 10.8 pounds, not 13.6.
The manufacturer page also lists three fan speeds and a 1–8 hour timer. That is a floor tower, not a nightstand cube. Skip the MSA3 if you need one room-size story, if 21.5 inches of height will not fit, or if you wanted the 3-pound Morento.
Aeocky YearChange at 480 ft² on Turbo
The YearChange (model Cybertron) is the large-room line in this set only if you stay with the listing’s 4.8-times claim and then check it against CADR. Turbo dust CADR is 240 m³/h, which is 141 CFM. Turbo smoke is 224 m³/h, which is 131 CFM. Turbo pollen is 236 m³/h, which is 138 CFM. The listing cites AHAM AC-1-2020 for those Turbo figures.
The same listing’s Energy Star High-speed report is lower: 90 CFM dust, 74 CFM smoke, and 86 CFM pollen. A lower fan speed is a smaller delivery rate. The 480 sq ft line is tied to Turbo and to 4.8 air changes per hour. The 2,300 sq ft line is one air change per hour in a room with an 8-foot ceiling. 480 times 4.8 is about 2,300, so the title figure is the once-per-hour number, not a second room.
Under the 0.65 CFM-per-square-foot check this page already uses, 141 CFM is about 217 square feet, and 90 CFM is about 138. The listing’s 480 sq ft and the 141 CFM dust figure do not describe the same room. Skip it if you needed one room-size story, or if you will not run Turbo and still want the 480 sq ft rate. The body on the listing is 11 inches deep, 5.87 inches wide, and 13.3 inches high, at 5.9 pounds. Noise is not stated on the Amazon listing or the Aeocky page checked Oct 27, 2026.
Best air purifier for college dorm room
The best air purifier for college dorm room is whichever model your hall allows, in the room size the 4.8-times claim actually covers. Housing rules are not national.
Ithaca College’s residence-hall room guide lists “Humidifiers/Air Purifiers” among approved items. That page does not apply to Circle and Garden apartments. The college’s apartment guide uses the same approved line and does not apply to residence halls. Same school, two documents, two sets of buildings.
Cornell’s 2026–27 undergraduate community standards name humidifiers on the prohibited list and do not name air purifiers. Silence on that page is not approval. Read the document for your own hall.
EPA also says to avoid air cleaners sold to produce ozone. None of the Core 200S, Vital 100S-P, MR2566, and MSA3 listings describes an ozone generator. All five Amazon spec tables say CARB certified, and this page did not match those labels to the directory.
When none of the five belongs in the room
Skip all five if the problem is heat. A purifier moves air through a filter. It is not a fan. The dorm fan versus air purifier comparison splits those two jobs. Also skip them if the hall bans the appliance, if you will not buy replacement filters, or if the only open spot is inside a closet. A unit that cannot pull air will not match the room size on the box.
The best air purifier for dorm room in this set is the Core 200S-P when the listing’s 140 ft² rate matches the room and the 8.1-inch body fits. Choose the Vital 100S-P for the 222 ft² rate, the MR2566 when you accept a small body with no CADR, and the MSA3 only after you have read both Amazon’s floor area and the manufacturer’s 112 CFM line. Choose the YearChange only after you have read both the Turbo 141 CFM dust CADR and the 480 sq ft line, and you will not use 2,300 sq ft as the dorm size.
Behind this guide
A shortlist is not a universal ranking.
This guide compares the formats and buying questions documented in the listed sources. It does not claim hands-on testing, a permanent price, current merchant rating, or a personal result. Check the live listing only after you have a clear fit and skip condition.
Approved sources
FAQ
Which model in this set is the smallest?
The Morento MR2566, at 7.87 by 6.92 by 12.79 inches and 3 pounds. The Core 200S-P is the small model that also states a 140 square-foot, 4.8-times room, in an 8.1-inch square body.
Which is the best LEVOIT air purifier for a dorm room, the Core 200S or the Vital 100S-P?
Use the Core 200S-P near 140 square feet at the listing's 4.8-times rate. Use the Vital 100S-P near 222 square feet. The Core Amazon page checked on Oct 26, 2026 does not print CFM. The Vital listing gives a smoke-free CADR of 143 CFM.
Do these listings state a CADR?
The Vital listing states 143. The MSA3 manufacturer page states 112 CFM. The Core 200S Amazon page checked on Oct 26, 2026 does not print CFM. The Morento listing does not state a CADR. A floor-area cell is not a CADR. The Aeocky YearChange listing states a Turbo dust CADR of 240 m³/h (141 CFM) and smoke of 224 m³/h (131 CFM). Its Energy Star High-speed figures are 90 CFM dust, 74 CFM smoke, and 86 CFM pollen. The 2,300 sq ft line is one air change per hour.
Is an air purifier allowed in a college dorm room?
It depends on the hall. Ithaca's residence-hall guide and apartment guide both name air purifiers as approved, for different buildings. Cornell's 2026–27 undergraduate standards prohibit humidifiers by name and do not mention air purifiers. Silence there is not approval.
Why does the MSA3 listing say 1,590 square feet when the manufacturer lists 112 CFM?
They are different claims. At an 8-foot ceiling, 112 CFM is 175 square feet at 4.8 air changes and 840 square feet at one air change, which matches the manufacturer's per-hour line. Amazon's spec table says 1,590 square feet. Noise disagrees too: 22 dB on Amazon, 35–57 dB on the manufacturer page.