Buying guide
Can You Have a Coffee Maker in a Dorm? 12 Schools (2026)
Can you have a coffee maker in a dorm? We compared 12 housing pages: pod brewers are often allowed in rooms, while drip pots and espresso machines split.
Editorial buying guide · Updated · ByDorm Room Compass Editorial Team ·Editorial policy ·Methodology
Can you have a coffee maker in a dorm? Pod, drip, and espresso
Usually yes for a single-serve pod brewer: 11 of the 12 housing pages we checked allow one in the room (several with conditions), and Central Connecticut State allows a Keurig only in a hall kitchen. Drip pots with a warming plate and espresso machines are where the rules split.
Asking can you have a coffee maker in a dorm is three questions. We read and compared the housing pages linked below. We did not use a brewer, and this page recommends no product. A residence hall room and an apartment can be different lines on the same campus.
Florida State and Ohio State are two of those 11, and both are bring lists. Florida State names a “coffee maker”. Ohio State names a “Small coffee pot / individual cup coffee maker”. Neither line states a hot-plate or espresso condition.
Twelve schools, by brewer type and where it may be used
A cell that says Not stated on this page means the lines we read on Oct 28, 2026 do not name that machine. That is not a yes.
| School | Single-serve pod in your room | Drip pot / warming plate in your room | Espresso machine | Exact wording (short verbatim quote) | Checked |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Iowa State University | Allowed | Allowed | Allowed | “Coffee makers, Keurig-type (single-serve) coffee pots, electric water kettles, espresso machines, toasters, and microwaves can be used in residence hall rooms and apartments.” | Oct 28, 2026 |
| Florida State University | Listed on bring list (type not specified) | Listed on bring list (type not specified) | Not stated on this page | “coffee maker” | Oct 28, 2026 |
| The Ohio State University | Listed on bring list (type not specified) | Listed on bring list (type not specified) | Not stated on this page | “Small coffee pot / individual cup coffee maker” | Oct 28, 2026 |
| Oberlin College | Allowed if auto shut-off & no hot plate | Allowed only with auto shut-off and no hot plate warming feature | Not stated on this page | “Coffee makers with automatic shut-off that do not include a hot plate warming feature” | Oct 28, 2026 |
| Kalamazoo College | Keurig/single-serve type or have an automatic shut off | Keurig/single-serve type or have an automatic shut off | Not stated on this page | “coffee makers–must be Keurig/single-serve type or have an automatic shut off” | Oct 28, 2026 |
| Oklahoma State University | Allowed | Not in rooms; OK in apartment/community kitchen | Not in rooms; OK in apartment/community kitchen | “Single-serve coffee makers (such as a Keurig).” Not in rooms: “Drip coffee makers”, “Espresso machines”. | Oct 28, 2026 |
| Kenyon College | Allowed | Not allowed | Not stated on this page | “Coffee makers with no exposed hot surface (such as Keurig)”. Unapproved: “Percolator or drip coffee pots”. | Oct 28, 2026 |
| Trinity University | Allowed | Kitchen only | Not stated on this page | “Traditional coffee pot (Keurig-style single-serve coffee makers are permitted)” | Oct 28, 2026 |
| La Sierra University | Allowed if auto shut-off & no hot plate | Not allowed | Not allowed | “Single-serve coffee makers with auto-shutoff and without a hot plate are allowed.” Also: “Coffee makers with hot plates, espresso machines, and other heat producing elements are not permitted.” | Oct 28, 2026 |
| Fairleigh Dickinson University | Allowed if auto shut-off, no hotplate, and UL label | Not allowed | Not allowed | “Keurig-type coffeemakers (single serve with automatic shut off and without a hotplate);” Prohibited: “Coffeemakers”, “Espresso machines”. | Oct 28, 2026 |
| Suffolk University | Allowed (no open coil) | Not allowed | Not stated on this page | “single serve coffee makers with no open coil”. Prohibited: “coffee pots/coffee makers”. | Oct 28, 2026 |
| Central Connecticut State University | Kitchen only | Not allowed | Not stated on this page | “Keurig machines”. “Coffee pots or coffee makers used in room/suites”. | Oct 28, 2026 |
The in-room yes is often a condition: automatic shut-off, no hot plate, no exposed hot surface, or no open coil. Kalamazoo allows one kitchen appliance per bedroom under that or-rule. Its cooking page says “Updated July 25, 2024”. Central Connecticut State keeps even a Keurig out of in-room use.
Kenyon, Suffolk, Fairleigh Dickinson, and Central Connecticut State do not allow a drip pot or coffee pot in the room. La Sierra does not permit “Coffee makers with hot plates”. Oklahoma State allows “Drip coffee makers” only outside ordinary resident rooms. Trinity limits a traditional pot to designated kitchen areas. Oberlin allows a coffee maker only with automatic shut-off and no hot plate warming feature. Iowa State’s sentence allows “Coffee makers” in rooms and does not add a hot-plate condition.
Ohio State’s cannot-bring list includes “Hot plates”, “Extension cords”, and “Octopus plugs”, without saying the hot-plate line is a coffee maker’s warming plate. The PDF says more items are in section 3.1 of the Residential Living Handbook.
Keurig vs drip pot vs espresso machine: why the rules differ
These pages do not share one definition. They name a hot surface, or they name a format.
Kenyon College approves “Coffee makers with no exposed hot surface (such as Keurig)” and does not approve “Percolator or drip coffee pots”. The reason given is “limited electrical capacity in residential spaces and fire safety concerns.” It also says “All electrical devices/appliances must be UL-approved.”
Trinity University states the purpose as “Because of the danger of fire, necessary restrictions must be placed on use of electrical appliances in rooms”. The appliance rule is “All electrical appliances with an exposed heating element are prohibited in all areas of main campus residence halls with the exception of designated kitchen areas.” The example is “Traditional coffee pot (Keurig-style single-serve coffee makers are permitted)”.
La Sierra University says “Coffee makers with hot plates, espresso machines, and other heat producing elements are not permitted.” The allowed line is “Single-serve coffee makers with auto-shutoff and without a hot plate are allowed.”
Suffolk University permits “single serve coffee makers with no open coil” in student rooms and prohibits “hot pots; coffee pots/coffee makers; hot plates” in residence hall areas.
Oberlin College permits “Coffee makers with automatic shut-off that do not include a hot plate warming feature”. It prohibits “Appliances without automatic shut-off (included but not limited to coffee makers, clothing irons, hair curling irons, etc.)”. A pod brewer is not carved out of that pair of lines.
Fairleigh Dickinson University prohibits “Coffeemakers” and “Espresso machines”. The authorized list, which requires a UL label on the appliance, includes “Keurig-type coffeemakers (single serve with automatic shut off and without a hotplate);”.
Kalamazoo College writes an or: “coffee makers–must be Keurig/single-serve type or have an automatic shut off”. “All electrical devices utilized in student rooms must be UL approved and in good working order.”
Espresso machines: room, apartment kitchen, or not allowed
Four of these 12 pages answer can you have an espresso machine in a dorm. The other eight do not name one. A bring-list “coffee maker”, or a Keurig line, is not an espresso yes.
Iowa State allows one in the room
Iowa State University is the page that allows “espresso machines” in “residence hall rooms and apartments”, in the same sentence as coffee makers and Keurig-type pots. That is the only clear in-room yes in this set.
Oklahoma State: apartments and community kitchens
Oklahoma State University does not permit “Espresso machines” in resident rooms. Apartments and deluxe suites with kitchens or kitchenettes, and community kitchens, may use them among small kitchen appliances “that require 900 watts or less”. “Drip coffee makers” follow that split. Resident rooms are approved for “Single-serve coffee makers (such as a Keurig).”
La Sierra and Fairleigh Dickinson prohibit them
La Sierra University says espresso machines “are not permitted.” Fairleigh Dickinson University lists “Espresso machines” as prohibited, next to “Coffeemakers”. The authorized exception stops at the Keurig-type line.
Ohio State, Oberlin, Kalamazoo, Kenyon, Trinity, Suffolk, Central Connecticut State, and Florida State do not state an espresso rule in the lines checked here. Ask housing before you treat a general coffee line as permission.
Power strips, surge protectors, and extension cords
None of the 12 pages names a coffee maker in its plug rule. If your page is silent, ask housing. Do not guess because a brewer is missing from a list about other appliances.
Iowa State University says “Power strips with surge protectors should be used in rooms/apartments. If your electrical use within a room/apartment causes electrical malfunctions, you may be asked to rearrange or remove items.” A surge protector there “must include voltage surge protection, a lighted on/off switch, a 15-amp circuit breaker protection, and a minimum 14-gauge power cord with ground.” Devices that must not be used with a surge protector include “lamps, fans, large battery chargers, and motor-driven appliances, such as air conditioners, refrigerators, pop machines, compressors, and microwave ovens.” A coffee maker is not on that list, and the page still does not say a coffee maker may use the strip.
Oberlin College prohibits “Any appliance, lighting, or electrical cord without original UL-approved labeling attached” and an “Ungrounded extension cord (must have 3 prongs). Extension cords must be plugged directly into the wall for use.”
Oklahoma State University says “Refrigerators and microwaves must be plugged directly into a wall outlet. Do not plug these appliances into a power strip or extension cord…” Extension cords “must be 14-gauge or heavier.” The direct-to-wall sentence names refrigerators and microwaves, not a coffee maker.
The Ohio State University bring list includes “Power strip”. Things you cannot bring include “Extension cords” and “Octopus plugs”. Fairleigh Dickinson University prohibits “Extension cords” and authorizes “Surge protectors”. Neither line names a coffee maker.
Central Connecticut State University prohibits “Extension cords (only surge protectors permitted)”. “Plug Strips/Surge Protectors - Must be UL approved with a built-in circuit breaker.” Kenyon College approves “Power strips with surge protectors” and does not approve “Multi-plug adapters”.
Florida State, La Sierra, Suffolk, and Trinity do not state a cord or strip rule in the lines we read. Kalamazoo’s UL sentence is about the device, not about which cord feeds it.
Hall kitchens, apartment kitchens, and what a ban can trigger
Central Connecticut State University restricts “Coffee pots or coffee makers used in room/suites”. Approved kitchen equipment “may only be used in designated residence hall kitchens” and “may be stored in students’ rooms when not in use.” “Keurig machines” are on that kitchen list. The machine can sit in the room. Brewing is for the hall kitchen.
Oklahoma State University approves single-serve machines in resident rooms. Drip coffee makers and espresso machines are for apartments, deluxe suites with kitchens or kitchenettes, and community kitchens, among small kitchen appliances “that require 900 watts or less”.
Trinity is narrower than that storage line. “All electrical appliances with an exposed heating element are prohibited in all areas of main campus residence halls with the exception of designated kitchen areas.” The example is a traditional coffee pot, and the page does not say you may store that pot in the bedroom. Keurig-style single-serve machines are the permitted contrast.
Oklahoma State gives residents 48 hours to remove a prohibited item, Suffolk says confiscated items can be picked up within 14 days “for the purpose of removing the item from the residence hall”, and Central Connecticut State says possession “will result in confiscation”.
Words to find on your own housing page
Search the current handbook for the machine you own. The words that changed the answer on these 12 pages were single-serve, Keurig, automatic shut-off, hot plate, warming plate, exposed hot surface, exposed heating element, open coil, UL label, designated kitchen, apartment, and community kitchen.
Read the line as a pair. A yes for single-serve can sit beside a no for a drip pot, which is what Oklahoma State does. A bring-list line, which is all Florida State and Ohio State give here, is not a warming-plate ruling. If you are still deciding whether any new appliance belongs in the room, use the dorm room buying checklist before you shop.
A note you can send housing
Hello, I am assigned to [hall]. May I keep a single-serve pod coffee maker in my room if it has automatic shut-off and no hot plate or warming plate? If the room is not an option, may I store it in the room and use it only in a designated kitchen, and do a drip pot and an espresso machine follow different rules?
Iowa State lists “electric water kettles” in the same allowed sentence as coffee makers, and La Sierra allows hot water kettles “with a fully insulated heating element and auto-shutoff” in that section, but kettle rules on this site use other schools: can you have an electric kettle in a dorm.
What this page covers and what it doesn’t
If you are asking can you have a coffee maker in a dorm, these 12 official pages, checked Oct 28, 2026, answer by type and by place. A single-serve pod brewer is often allowed in the room, sometimes only with conditions, and at Central Connecticut State only in a hall kitchen. Drip pots with a warming plate and espresso machines are where the pages disagree. Policies change by year and by building. We recommend no product, and no coffee maker was used by us.
Filtration, personal airflow, and light are a different job: dorm room comfort essentials. A portable burner is a different appliance: induction cooktop for a dorm.
Approved sources
FAQ
Are coffee makers allowed in dorms?
On the 12 housing pages checked Oct 28, 2026, a single-serve pod brewer is the type most often allowed in the room, and several of those permissions carry conditions such as automatic shut-off, no hot plate, no exposed hot surface, or no open coil. Central Connecticut State allows a Keurig only in a designated hall kitchen. Drip pots and espresso machines are a different answer on many of the same pages. Florida State and Ohio State put a coffee maker on a bring list without a type condition in the lines we read. Your hall can differ.
Can you have a Keurig in a dorm room?
Kenyon approves "Coffee makers with no exposed hot surface (such as Keurig)". Trinity says "Keurig-style single-serve coffee makers are permitted". Oklahoma State approves "Single-serve coffee makers (such as a Keurig)." in resident rooms. Fairleigh Dickinson authorizes "Keurig-type coffeemakers (single serve with automatic shut off and without a hotplate);" when the appliance has a UL label. Kalamazoo requires a Keurig/single-serve type or an automatic shut-off, one per bedroom. Central Connecticut State lists "Keurig machines" as kitchen equipment you may store in the room and use only in a designated residence hall kitchen.
Can you have an espresso machine in a dorm?
Four of the 12 pages name espresso machines. Iowa State says they "can be used in residence hall rooms and apartments." Oklahoma State does not permit them in resident rooms; apartments, deluxe suites with kitchens or kitchenettes, and community kitchens may use them among small appliances "that require 900 watts or less". La Sierra says espresso machines "are not permitted." Fairleigh Dickinson lists "Espresso machines" as prohibited. The other eight pages do not state an espresso rule in the lines checked Oct 28, 2026.
Are coffee pots allowed in dorms?
A drip pot is not the same line as a pod brewer on several of these pages. Kenyon lists "Percolator or drip coffee pots" as unapproved. Trinity's exposed-heating-element example is a "Traditional coffee pot" except in designated kitchen areas. Suffolk prohibits "coffee pots/coffee makers" while permitting "single serve coffee makers with no open coil". Oklahoma State does not permit "Drip coffee makers" in resident rooms. La Sierra does not permit "Coffee makers with hot plates". Oberlin permits coffee makers only with automatic shut-off and no hot plate warming feature. Iowa State allows "Coffee makers" in rooms. Florida State and Ohio State list a coffee maker or small coffee pot on a bring list without that split.
Can you plug a coffee maker into a power strip?
None of the 12 pages names a coffee maker in its plug rule. Iowa State specifies a surge protector with voltage surge protection, a lighted on/off switch, 15-amp circuit breaker protection, and a minimum 14-gauge power cord with ground, and it lists other devices that must not be used with a surge protector. That list does not name a coffee maker, and the page still does not say a coffee maker may use the strip. Oberlin requires a 3-prong extension cord plugged directly into the wall. Oklahoma State sends refrigerators and microwaves straight to a wall outlet and says extension cords must be 14-gauge or heavier. Ohio State and Fairleigh Dickinson list extension cords as not allowed. Central Connecticut State allows only UL surge protectors with a built-in circuit breaker. Kenyon approves power strips with surge protectors and does not approve multi-plug adapters. If your page is silent, ask housing.
Can you store a Keurig in a Central Connecticut State room?
Storage, yes. Use in the room, no. Central Connecticut State's restricted-items page says approved kitchen equipment, including "Keurig machines", may be stored in students' rooms when not in use and may only be used in designated residence hall kitchens. "Coffee pots or coffee makers used in room/suites" are restricted, and possession "will result in confiscation".